Alliance of Women Film Journalist Nominations 2015

Posted on December 28, 2015 at 5:54 pm

The Alliance of Women Film Journalists has announced its nominations for the best (and some of the worst) in film for 2015.  I have already voted my ballot for the final awards and look forward to the winners.

Best Film

  • Carol
  • Mad Max: Fury Road
  • The Martian
  • Room
  • Spotlight

Best Director

  • Lenny Abramson – Room
  • Todd Haynes – Carol
  • Alejandro Gonzales Inarritu – The Revenant
  • Tom McCarthy – Spotlight
  • George Miller – Mad Max Fury Road
  • Ridley Scott – The Martian

Best Screenplay, Original

  • Ex Machina – Alex Garland
  • Inside Out – Pete Docter, Ronnie Del Carmen, Meg LeFauve, Josh Cooley
  • Spotlight – Josh Singer, Tom McCarthy

Best Screenplay, Adapted

  • The Big Short – Charles Randolph, Adam McKay
  • Carol – Phyllis Nagy
  • The Martian – Drew Goddard
  • Room – Emma Donoghue

Best Documentary

  • Amy – Asif Kapadia
  • Best of Enemies – Robert Gordon, Morgan Neville
  • Going Clear: Scientology and The Prison of Belief – Alex Gibney
  • The Hunting Ground – Kirby Dick
  • What Happened, Ms. Simone? – Liz Garbus

Best Animated Film

  • Anomalisa
  • Inside Out
  • Shaun The Sheep

Best Actress

  • Cate Blanchett – Carol
  • Brie Larson – Room
  • Charlotte Rampling – 45 Years

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Rooney Mara – Carol
  • Kristin Stewart – Clouds of Sils Maria
  • Alicia Vikander – Ex Machina
  • Kate Winslett – Steve Jobs

Best Actor

  • Matt Damon – The Martian
  • Leonardo Di Caprio – The Revenant
  • Michael Fassbender – Steve Jobs
  • Eddie Redmayne – The Danish Girl

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Paul Dano – Love & Mercy
  • Mark Rylance – Bridge of Spies
  • Michael Shannon – 99 Homes
  • Sylvester Stallone – Creed

Best Ensemble Cast

  • The Big Short
  • Spotlight
  • Straight Outta Compton

Best Editing

  • The Big Short
  • Mad Max: Fury Road – Margaret Sixel
  • Spotlight – Tom McArdle

Best Cinematography

  • Carol – Edward Lachman
  • Mad Max: Fury Road – John Seale
  • The Revenant – Emmanuel Lubezki

Best Film Music Or Score

  • Carol – Carter Burwell
  • The Hateful Eight – Ennio Morricone
  • Mad Max: Fury Road – Junkie XL
  • Youth – David Lang

Best Non-English-Language Film

  • Mustang – Deniz Gamze Eguven
  • Phoenix – Christian Petzold
  • Son of Saul – Lazlo Nemes


These awards honor WOMEN only.

Best Woman Director

  • Isabel Coixet – Learning to Drive
  • Maya Forbes – Infinitely Polar Bear
  • Sarah Gavron – Suffragette
  • Marielle Heller – Diary of a Teenage Girl
  • Celine Sciamma – Girlhood

Best Woman Screenwriter

  • Emma Donoghue – Room
  • Marielle Heller – Diary of a Teenage Girl
  • Phyllis Nagy – Carol
  • Amy Schumer – Trainwreck

Best Female Action Star

  • Emily Blunt – Sicario
  • Jennifer Lawrence – The Hunger Games Mocking Jay 2
  • Daisy Ridley – Star Wars: The Force Awakens
  • Charleze Theron – Mad Max: Fury Road

Best Breakthrough Performance

  • Brie Larson – Room
  • Bel Powley – Diary of a Teenage Girl
  • Daily Ridley – Star Wars: The Force Awakens
  • Alica Vikander – Ex Machina, Testament of Youth, The Danish Girl

Female Icon of the Year Award (a woman whose work in film and/or in life made a difference)

  • Chantal Ackerman – In Memoriam For being a great filmmaker and sinpiration.
  • Maria Geise – Activist filmmaker who is spearheading the movement for parity for women directors.
  • Donna Langley – Chair(wo)man, Universal Pictures, who has brought the studio to unprecedented profits.
  • Jennifer Lawrence – For breaking the silence about discriminatory practices and unequal pay for actresses.
  • Charlotte Rampling – Because she’s Charlotte Rampling and is iconic.


Best Depiction Of Nudity, Sexuality, or Seduction

  • Anomalisa
  • Carol
  • Diary of a Teenage Girl

Actress Defying Age and Ageism

  • Helen Mirren
  • Charlotte Rampling
  • Lily Tomlin

Most Egregious Age Difference Between The Lead and The Love Interest Award

  • Danny Collins – Al Pacino and Katarina Cas
  • Freeheld – Julianne Moore and Ellen Page
  • Irrational Man – Joaquin Phoenix and Emma Stone
  • Spectre – Daniel Craig and Lea Seydoux

Actress Most in Need Of A New Agent

  • Bryce Dallas Howard – Jurassic World
  • Dakota Johnson – 50 Shades of Gray
  • Emma Stone – Aloha

Movie You Wanted To Love, But Just Couldn’t

  • Aloha
  • The Danish Girl
  • The Hateful Eight
  • Sisters

EDA Award winners will be announced on January 12, 2016.

Related Tags:


THE MOVIE MOM® is a registered trademark of Nell Minow. Use of the mark without express consent from Nell Minow constitutes trademark infringement and unfair competition in violation of federal and state laws. All material © Nell Minow 1995-2024, all rights reserved, and no use or republication is permitted without explicit permission. This site hosts Nell Minow’s Movie Mom® archive, with material that originally appeared on Yahoo! Movies, Beliefnet, and other sources. Much of her new material can be found at, Huffington Post, and WheretoWatch. Her books include The Movie Mom’s Guide to Family Movies and 101 Must-See Movie Moments, and she can be heard each week on radio stations across the country.

Website Designed by Max LaZebnik