FiveThirtyEight Explains All Movies Via Mark Wahlberg

Posted on October 14, 2016 at 8:00 am

I really enjoyed this discussion of Mark Wahlberg’s career on the FiveThirtyEight website. Walt Hickey’s “Hollywood Taxonomy” of the four categories of Mark Wahlberg movies can really be used to categorize pretty much all movies. It’s not just divided into serious action (“Deepwater Horizon”), less serious action (“Transformers: Age of Extinction”), arthouse (“The Fighter,” “I Heart Huckabees”), and silly (“Daddy’s Home”). Hickey says that the categories are: “A Gambler,” “Max Pain,” “More Than Meets the Eye,” and “Invincible.” That’s a pretty good set of categories for most Hollywood films.

Copyright fivethirtyeight 2016
Copyright fivethirtyeight 2016
Related Tags:


Understanding Media and Pop Culture
THE MOVIE MOM® is a registered trademark of Nell Minow. Use of the mark without express consent from Nell Minow constitutes trademark infringement and unfair competition in violation of federal and state laws. All material © Nell Minow 1995-2024, all rights reserved, and no use or republication is permitted without explicit permission. This site hosts Nell Minow’s Movie Mom® archive, with material that originally appeared on Yahoo! Movies, Beliefnet, and other sources. Much of her new material can be found at, Huffington Post, and WheretoWatch. Her books include The Movie Mom’s Guide to Family Movies and 101 Must-See Movie Moments, and she can be heard each week on radio stations across the country.

Website Designed by Max LaZebnik